First, Get Out the Cutting Board

Once the cutting board is out, you’ll chop up a carrot. And maybe a green pepper. And you may as well demolish that celery now that the cutting board’s already out. And, as long as you’re cutting, you might as well have some apple slices in that salad. Getting out the cutting board is the first step to eating well.

Once I got over the psychological hump of washing a cutting board and a knife, my diet really improved. I eat a gigantic apple every morning.* And, once I have the cutting board out, I might as well chop vegetables for lunch.

* I like to eat oatmeal – made with milk and topped with apples and walnuts – on weekday mornings. I don’t consider an apple, even a gigantic apple, enough food for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

