The Grocery Store Bottleneck

It’s finals season, and that really poses a challenge to my eat-closer-to home cooking philosophy. Getting to the grocery store or farmers market seems to be the biggest problem when I am stressed and busy…and eating at home is really difficult when the cupboard is bare.

I can’t do anything about my bare cupboard today, as I’m about to leave town for Thanksgiving, but I have a plan of action for getting through the next month of exams, interviews, and deadlines.

My plan is to stock my pantry, freezer, and fridge with easy-to-cook items when I get home.

Here’s my list:

Pantry:

  • Pasta
  • Oatmeal
  • Rice
  • Black beans
  • Chickpeas
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Tomato sauce

Freezer:

  • Frozen green peas
  • Frozen green beans
  • Frozen broccoli

Fridge:

  • Cheddar cheese
  • Gruyere cheese
  • Carrots
  • Green Peppers
  • Apples
  • Milk

From there, I can make pasta with pesto (already frozen), tomato sauce, or chickpeas, onions & garlic, black beans (with green pepper, onions, and garlic) and rice, lentils (already in pantry) and couscous (already in pantry), cheese toast (bread already in freezer), and eat it with carrots or a green vegetable.

Leave a Reply

