Spelt Pumpkin Bread with Raisins, Coconut and Pumpkin Seeds

When I was born, the neighbors brought us pumpkin cake. We’ve had the recipe in our family ever since, and last night I doctored it up with some raisins, coconut, and pumpkin seeds.

I also cut the fat and the sugar and skipped the (delicious) butter-cream sauce that goes with it – the man I live with feels acutely nauseated when confronted with the butter and sugar-filled reality of Western baked goods, and I try not to traumatize him too much.

I did, however, leave in enough fat and sugar to make it taste good.

Here’s the new recipe:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9 x 13 inch pan and set it aside.

Mix the following dry ingredients together:

2 1/4 cups spelt flour (white flour or a combination of white and wheat would also work)

1 cup of sugar (1 1/2 cups in the original)

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1/2 teaspoons of baking soda

1 teaspoon of salt

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of ginger

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon of clves

Beat the following wet ingredients together:

5 tablespoons melted butter (I just used the partial stick of butter we had in the fridge – somewhere between half a stick of butter and a whole stick of butter should be about right. The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup Crisco, which is one of the ingredients that makes Jerry shudder.)

1 cup (or 1 can) of pumpkin puree

2 eggs

3/4 cup of plain yogurt (the original recipe calls for buttermilk, which I had forgotten before beginning the recipe)

Mix the dry and wet ingredients together, then stir in a bunch of raisins, coconut, and pumpkin seeds. If you’re the measuring type, I would suggest adding 1/2 a cup of each ingredient, mixing them in, then adding more if the batter looks too sparsely populated. I don’t think you’ll need more than a cup of each ingredient.

Pour the batter into the pan and bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, or until the cake is done.

One Response to Spelt Pumpkin Bread with Raisins, Coconut and Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Laurie says:

    Ooh, I think I have all the ingredients for this! (Except yogurt, but I do have dry buttermilk.)

    Woo! I love pumpkin desserts!!

Leave a Reply

