Ch-Ch-Ch Changes!

Since moving back to New York, I have concluded that I was and am not such a half-spouse after all. My domestic output is about the same, as is the approximate amount of time I spend doing fun stuff with my husband. It turns out that I only have so much time and energy, and that is okay.

I have also started incorporating some locally grown, pastured meat in our diet. I think there is a place for ethically raised livestock in our farming system and so our diets reflect that. I am still committed to eating less meat and more beans, lentils, tofu, and tempeh because sustainable agriculture cannot generate the massive amounts of meat people are accustomed to under the industrial agriculture system.

Finally, Jerry and I had a baby! It’s been great fun, but also really time consuming. We had a homebirth with a certified nurse midwife and our wonderful doula, Emily Landry, and Jerry caught the baby.

I wanted to mention that we are vaccinating her on the CDC schedule, as a lot of folks in the natural birth community worry about getting their babies vaccinated. I want to assure you that you can be a natural birthing, extended breastfeeding, crunchy parent and STILL get your baby vaccinated on time. I will be so thrilled when we have completed the full immunization schedule. I want our little one to explore the world fearlessly and getting vaccinated is a huge part of that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

